Mayo is a creamy yellowish-white sauce, usually served chilled with sandwiches or employed as a basis for salad dressings.
Because it is generally used around the world, you might wonder whether it is safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.
This article provides an outline of the ingredients used to prepare mayo and explains whether individuals on gluten-free diets can eat it.
What is mayo made of?
Mayo is a combined emulsion of the following:
- Egg yolks
- An acid (commonly vinegar or lemon juice)
Combining these three ingredients produces a mayo. Extra seasonings and flavours may be added, and some of those generally used are sea salt, white pepper, sugar, celery seed, Dijon mustard, and mustard seed.
The type of oil employed in making mayo can also differ. Several manufacturers make use of neutral-flavoured oil like canola, grape seed, avocado, or safflower. Stronger-flavoured olive oil might overpower the flavour of the mayo.
Is mayo safe for individuals that eat gluten-free?
Gluten is a group of proteins that can be gotten from wheat and other grains such as barley and rye. Some types of wheat are employed in processing food products that include bread, pasta, cereal, and baked goods, as well as sauces, soups, and salad dressings.
People with celiac disease are required to follow a strict gluten-free diet that involves avoiding wheat, barley, rye, and other foods that has gluten.
Consuming gluten can prompt symptoms like bloating, diarrhoea, stomach pains, constipation, weight loss, and loss of appetite. People with gluten sensitivity, which is different from celiac disease, can find solace by avoiding gluten as well.
Traditional ingredients such as eggs, oil, and acids, used in making mayo does not contain gluten. Thus, a natural mayo should be safe for individuals that follow a gluten-free diet.
Nonetheless, it is possible that a few of the extra ingredients may contain gluten, or that the vinegar and oil utilized in the recipe were gotten from gluten-containing products.
Also, there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten during the making of mayo. Notwithstanding, there are several best practices for guaranteeing that mayo is gluten-free.
How can I find a gluten-free mayo?
When shopping at the mart or store, the appropriate way to ensure that you’re purchasing a gluten-free mayo is to closely look at the label.
Following the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), any foods that comprise one of the following claims on the packaging should contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.
This is a safe quantity for individuals that follow a gluten-free diet:
- “without gluten.”
- “free of gluten.”
- “no gluten.”
If you notice one of these tags on the container of mayo, you can be sure that the product is gluten-free.
Several food manufacturers choose to add these tags on their gluten-free products willingly, but they aren’t lawfully required to do so. Hence, some gluten-free mayo might not put this on the container even if the product is gluten-free.
You can also search for the ingredient list to look for ingredients that might contain an element of wheat or gluten. When you visit a restaurant, you should ask the server or manager whether the mayo they offer is gluten-free.
The following mayo brands are recognized to sell gluten-free products:
- Blue Plate
- Sir Kensington’s
- Primal Kitchen
- Trader Joe’s
A few of these brands sell different types of mayo, some of their products contains gluten, and some do not. So it is best that you look for gluten-free indications on the container before you purchase any brand of mayo.
DIY homemade mayo
You can ensure that your mayo is gluten-free by making your own at home. The following ingredients are required for homemade gluten-free mayo:
- One large egg
- One cup (236 mL) of mild-flavoured oil like avocado, canola, grape seed, or safflower
- One teaspoon (5 mL) of lemon juice
- A tablespoon (15 mL) of vinegar that includes white, red wine, or apple cider
- 1/4 teaspoon of salt
- Extra flavours such as black or white pepper, Dijon mustard, celery seed, mustard seed, or a pinch of sugar (optional)
Steps to prepare a mayo:
- Break the egg and stir it for about 30 seconds in a small food processor
- After that, add the vinegar & salt and stir for another 30 seconds
- Gradually add the oil to the mixture (a few drops at a time). If you add excess oil too quickly, your mayo may not condense properly
- Blend in the lemon juice as well as any extra flavours you would like to add
It is good to experiment with various types of oils and vinegar in your homemade mayo, but make sure that you avoid using rice or malt vinegar because they might contain gluten or have become cross-contaminated.
Since the eggs utilized in this recipe are raw, it might be best to make use of pasteurized eggs to minimize the risk of food poisoning. You can prevent your homemade mayo from getting spoilt by storing it in the refrigerator at 4.5°C (40°F) or below.
Most homemade mayo stocked in the refrigerator can be used safely for about 14 days. Nonetheless, if you detect a rancid odour, mould, or an unexpected change in the colour of the mayo, it would be best if you threw it away.
People following a gluten-free diet are advised to stop consuming wheat, barley, rye, and other foods that may contain gluten. Traditional mayo is prepared from only a few naturally gluten-free ingredients.
However, additional spices or cross-contamination could render your mayo unsuitable for people with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.
Checking for a gluten-free label on the container of the mayo or preparing your mayo at home are the two means of ensuring that you consume a safe gluten-free mayo.